Controlling your heater

For optimal comfort we highly recommend using a wall-mounted electronic thermostat to regulate your electric heaters. Thermostats are more accurate when installed on an interior wall where sensors aren’t affected by the colder temperature of exterior walls. It will thus ensure more uniform room temperature and greater overall comfort.
 
Superior comfort isn’t the only reason to opt for electronic thermostats: they’ll also save you money on your heating bill. Hydro-Québec estimates that electronic thermostats deliver savings up to 10% on annual heating costs over their mechanical counterparts.
 
Mechanical thermostats work with two strips of different metals (or alloys) that expand at different rates in response to temperature variations. That means these thermostats do not actually “read” the temperature, and are accurate only to within 2° or 3°C of the setting. This variance gets larger as the thermostat gets older. This somewhat crude system is sometimes nicknamed “saw tooth” heating because the heat output, if graphed, would resemble a set of sharp peaks and valleys rather than a smooth line: the heater works uninterrupted to above the upper setting, then stops and the room cools to below the lower setting, then the cycle begins again.

An electronic thermostat works differently. It reads the room temperature 240 times per hour, enabling it to maintain a much more uniform temperature, within approximately 0.5°C of the set temperature.
 
The graph below makes the difference clear.


Source: Hydro-Québec
 
You can save even more—up to 4.5% according to Hydro-Québec studies—by using programmable thermostats and setting them to lower the temperature by 3°C at night and when you are at work.

Contrôler son appareil

Afin d’assurer un confort optimal, il est fortement recommandé d’utiliser un thermostat électronique mural pour contrôler vos appareils de chauffage électrique. Lorsqu’installé sur un mur intérieur, le thermostat offre un niveau de précision supérieur car sa sonde n’est pas affectée par la température plus froide des murs extérieurs. Il sera alors capable d’assurer une température ambiante plus uniforme et par le fait même, un meilleur confort.
 
Les thermostats électroniques sont à privilégier pour un niveau de confort supérieur mais aussi pour économiser sur vos coûts de chauffage. Selon Hydro-Québec, on parle d’économies de 10% des frais de chauffage annuels en comparaison avec les thermostats mécaniques.
 
Les thermostats mécaniques sont constitués de deux lames de métaux ou d’alliages différents qui se dilatent selon les variations de température. Il n’y a donc pas de lecture de température proprement dite et la précision du thermostat varie entre 2°C et 3°C du point de consigne. Cet écart tend à grandir avec l’âge du thermostat. Ce manque de précision occasionne ce que l’on appelle le chauffage en « dents de scie », où l’appareil chauffe sans arrêt au-delà du point de consigne, se refroidit sous le point de consigne, avant de reprendre un autre cycle de chauffage.
 
Le thermostat électronique pour sa part, lit la température ambiante jusqu’à 240 fois par heure, ce qui lui permet de réguler la température ambiante de façon plus uniforme ; il maintiendra une température à plus ou moins 0,5°C de la température désirée.

Le graphique ci-dessous illustre bien le phénomène. 
 

Source : Hydro-Québec
 
Il est également possible d’aller chercher des économies supplémentaires (jusqu’à 4,5% selon les études d’Hydro-Québec) lorsqu’on utilise des thermostats programmables et que l’on fait des abaissements de température de 3°C durant la nuit puis lorsque nous sommes au travail.